BT Development Mentor Program Archives » PirateGirl's Group - FULL Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 6

2006-12-15 5:45 PM

User image

Elite
Tucson, AZ
Subject: PirateGirl's Group - FULL

Your username / first name: PirateGirl (Elaine)

Family situation (single/married/family):
Married for 7 years to my husband (Zac) and we have no kids, but two rescued greyhounds. My husband isn't a triathlete, but does do some running with me, and we do lots and lots of mountain biking together.

How you train in general (what race distance in 2007, technical or not):
I have a full time job as an engineer (my degree is in chemical engineering), so I have to balance training with my career. I prefer to follow a training plan, and for many of my longer races (Half Ironmans) I've followed the BT plans. I'm currently training for Ironman Arizona 2007, and I am following the 20 week gold BT plan for that. So far so good! Usually I tweak the plan to fit my schedule by rearranging the days around. In between big races I don't follow a training plan, mostly for "mental rest." I find that I can burn out trying to follow plan after plan in a row. I also rely heavily on the logs here on BT, and religiously log all of my workouts (and sometimes non-workouts like "yard work".

I'm not a fast racer, and usually I'm at the back of the pack. This will be my 3rd season as a triathlete, and I do it mostly for fun and to keep in shape. I've had good races and bad ones, and have learned from each. I'm starting to really enjoy the longer distances such as Half Ironmans over the sprint distance. So I'm really looking forward to IMAZ.

And any weightloss goals that you have (or the weight lost so far as a triathlete):
I'm "average" weight for my height, but interested in loosing a few pounds (10 or so). I'm finding this pretty difficult to do. I am also vegetarian, and have been for 15 years, so I try to eat healthy.

Other: