Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 11

2006-12-22 10:40 PM

User image

Champion
MA
Subject: KathyG's group- Full

STORY:
I’m Kathy Graves a 45 year old Mom of 5 triathlete!! I'm going into my 4th season of competing in triathlons.

I was lazy and very overweight for 15+ years. After starting to lose weight I heard about triathlons and thought if I did one of those I could prove to myself I had turned my life around. I was so out of shape walking up the stairs I was out of breath. I started training and would only run in the dark as I didn’t want my neighbors to see me. I finished my first sprint triathlon and was amazed that I did it….it was very hard and I came in 3rd from last.

Over the last 3 years, I've improved my skills and have become an athlete, but bigger is my life has changed for the better as training and racing has taught me a lot beyond swimming, running and biking. I now dream big and can’t wait to work towards the next goal I set. The mental aspect about training and racing is huge. I love that at 45 I can run faster than I could as a soccer player in college and look forward to seeing what I can do next year and the next.

I love participating in triathlons as it has given me a gift to learn to challenge myself and surprise myself sometimes with the things I can do. I think training helps me be a better person, a better wife and Mom plus I’m having lots more fun!

I went from placing last in my first International length tri to dropping my time an hour the following year by working hard. It is possible to make great strides and improve with diligent training.