Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 5

2007-01-08 12:46 PM

User image

Expert
Marietta, GA
Subject: hblackmon's Group - FULL!

NAME: hblackmon/Heather (27)

STORY: I grew up dancing, starting at the age of 2 and continuing through college. I never really played sports, as dancing took up so much time and it kept me in great shape. After I graduated college in 2001, I really didn’t do anything athletic (maybe intermittent weights) as I adjusted to full-time work. After about a year, I started to go to the gym regularly, taking exercise classes, and tried exercise videos. I found it hard to stay motivated though. In January 2003, I decided a goal would help me with my motivation, so I started running (using the Couch-to-5K training program). Once I got close to the distance, I registered for a 5K and (slowly) completed it – running the whole way! I then registered for the Peachtree 10K and completed that one too. I decided it would be cool to run a marathon, so I signed up for the Disney Marathon and completed that in January 2004 (with the flu – so very slowly). I joined a running group in 2004 and ran the Chicago marathon in October. After the race, I was NOT in the mood to run and started talking to people about what else I could do. I had some friends who did triathlons, so after a break I decided I would train for a sprint. I completed 2 sprints in 2005 and was hooked. In 2006, I completed 3 Olympics and 2 Sprints and several running races. I’m certainly not the fastest competitor, but I love triathlons! It helps me to stay motivated, healthy, and has lead to many friendships!

FAMILY STATUS: I have been happily married to Kirk for over 5 years (August). We also have an awesome dog, Abbott.

CURRENT TRAINING: I’m just started my 2007 training, after a 3 week break at the end of 2006. I have a coach who plans my training in 4 week blocks and keeps me on track. I am training to get faster at Olympics and finish the season with my first half ironman.