of 9

2007-01-26 4:13 PM

User image

Master
, Minnesota
Subject: leapdog's group - FULL
Hi all,

My name's Jeff, aka Leapdog here on BT.

I'm 45 years old living in a north suburb of St Paul, MN with my wife of 16 yrs Linda, our dog Sydney and our cat Abby. In my professional life, I've been an IT consultant for nearly 15 years, the last 18 months of which I've been self employed.

My official 'racing life' started 5 years ago when I decided to train for the Twin Cities Marathon. Being a non-runner, I gave myself a year to train and managed to get the job done. I proceeded to complete 4 more marathons before joining a local health club in January of '05. After completing my 3rd TCM in Sept of 06, some folks at the club persuaded me to train for a HIM the next Sept. I said "that'd be great, but I don't swim and I don't bike!". As you all know, anything's possible with the right plan, and time. I bought a bike, hopped in the pool and got at it.

Over my one year of tri experience I managed 3 sprints, an oly and a HIM to go with my total of 7 marathons. I'm now coming up on my 2nd season of tri's and am training for IMWI in Sept of 07.

I'd consider myself an upper MOP'er that likes to compete. I like to do my best, laugh at myself when I make mistakes and learn from them.

What can I bring to the table? Well, I like to share knowledge. Coming off my first year of tri's the questions (or fears) many newbies may have, were on my mind just a year ago so I can relay things that have work (or didn't) for me.

I work with a personal trainer who writes my plans, as I found it a bit overwhelming to try and plan for my HIM, shorter tri's and marathon training all at once. My trainer has also run IMWI before, so she should be able to set me up for success come September.

I've never really had any weight issues, so have little to lend to that discussion.