BT Development Mentor Program Archives » triOK's Group - CLOSED Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 42

2007-05-17 8:17 AM

User image

Subject: triOK's Group - CLOSED
NAME: triOK / Robyn
STORY: Hello! 
My name is Robyn and this is my second season as a triathlete.  I started training last April and have since made it a part of my life.  I am currently training for my first half-Ironman, Buffalo Springs, in June.  I have a number of races on the books, but the half is my main training focus right now.  I hope to get through it all strong and injury free so that I can take on IMFL next year.  In addition to a busy training schedule, I work full-time as a chemist for a large company, and I am studying public health in grad school as well.  I have a wonderful husband and 2 gorgeous puppy dogs that love to double as running partners.

FAMILY STATUS: married and 3 4-legged kids (2 dogs and a cat

CURRENT TRAINING: I am training for Buffalo Springs 70.3 right now, but I since I love to race, I have lots of stuff coming up. I have a metric century and 2 olympic distance tri's all within the next month.  I am also planning on doing the Redman half Iron in September.

LAST YEAR'S RACES:  Last year, I competed in the Oklahoma City SuperSprint and the Concreteman Olympic triathlons, and the Tinman and the Chris Brown Memorial duathlons.  I also completed the Hotter N' Hell century and the Tulsa Tough metric century bike rides, and an assortment of local mountain bike races.  I also ran the Route 66, my first marathon. 

2007 RACES:  Done:  Jeff Myers Challenge (indoor tri) - January 19, Playtri Olympic - April 22, Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon - April 29, Tour de Tulsa metric century (62 mile bike ride) - May 5

Planned:  Tulsa Tough metric century - June 2, Tulsa Tri (Oly) - June 10, Buffalo Springs 70.3 (Half-Iron) - June 24, Hotter n' Hell Hundred (100 mile bike ride), Redman Half-Iron - September 23, Fall/winter marathon but I haven't chosen one yet.