General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Ride on New Bike - the Saga Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-06-25 9:45 PM

User image

Arlington, VA
Subject: First Ride on New Bike - the Saga
Before you read this thread, you must promise that if you laugh, you will laugh with me and not at me……..

So I finally purchased a bike. $58.00 big ones at Wal-Mart. I was kind of hoping that they’d reward me for spending my grocery money by throwing in the water bottle, but no, I had to purchase that too. Since I’m new to this Tri thing, I decided not to invest much money in it until I decided if it would stick….at least the biking part. While trying on helmets, I found that despite the many, many years of education I have and my pending MS degree, my brain is really not that big and I ended up purchasing a juvenile sized helmet. Now, if the rest of my body was “juvenile” sized……

I got the bike home (stuck it in the trunk of my VW and tied it down – thank-you-very-much) and attempted to mount the water bottle. I fancy myself as a fairly too-savvy female and much to my chagrin; I didn’t have the special tool to mount the bottle holder. Some funky, weird tool is needed and I’ve given up on trying to figure it out and purchased those clear plastic strappy-things. We’ll see how long they lasts. Yes, I know I could take it to a hardware store, but that’s not the point.