BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Ken Axford's Group - closed and killin it!!! Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 19

2007-12-26 11:16 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Colorado Springs, CO
Subject: Ken Axford's Group - closed and killin it!!!
USERNAME: kenaxford NAME: Ken

STORY: Hi, my name is Ken, and I'm a triathlon addict...
I have been competing in triathlon since college (1998 to be exact) I began swimming as a lifeguard in college to maintain my fitness, entered my first sprint which was held at the same pool I was lifeguarding. I was hooked. Since then I have competed at every distance including the Ironman in 2007. (Ironman Coeur D'Alene) I have recently resigned form the Corporate world to follow my wife around who is a traveling nurse. (that means we move every 3 months) We are headed to Colorado Springs for the first quarter. This gives me more time to devote to my personal life, athletic endevours, and generally have more fun.

Family Status: married for three years (as of September) with no children yet

Current Training: Currently I am nursing a hip inflamation, so I'm on a light maintenance program. My typical off season consists of 2-3 bikes per week, 1-2 runs, 1 swim, and 2-3 weight lifting sessions. My weekly hours during the off season average 6-8. (including at least one day of fun stuff such as volleyball, tennis, snowboarding, etc)

This year's races (2007): residing in Orlando, FL, I completed the wildman olympic in March, Gulf coast half in May, and Ironman Coeur D'Alene in June. I happily exceeded all my goals in each race, so it was a very successful year for me personally.

2008 races: my race plan for 2008 is pretty flexible. (due to the traveling) As long as I stay healthy, I intend to compete in the South Carolina half in September along with numerous sprints and olympics along the way.