General Discussion Triathlon Talk » For the coaches.... or people who have a coach... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-03-07 8:09 AM

User image

Champion
Dallas, TX
Subject: For the coaches.... or people who have a coach...
I'm a coach... looking for a coach to coach me. I can't write my own training plans because I tend to write what I want to do. I also don't push myself as hard as someone else does. I also like learning how someone else does it.

Here's what I'm looking for:

* A coach who I can stay with for long term. I'm not just getting a coach for X race. I have found through my own coaching, that people get the most gains by staying with one coach. A long term relationship means that the coach really understands the athlete and how to train them.

* Someone who has been coaching for more than 2-3 years, USAT certified, keeps up with his/her education, and who has been in the sport for a decent amount of time. While I don't expect you to be fast, or anything like that, I do expect you to have some experience as a triathlete and a coach.

* This person will need to use Training Peaks to upload my training plan and to analyze data. He/she should also understand how to train someone through HR zones. I have done LT testing and know what mine are. At this point I don't need anyone who knows how to train with power, since I don't have a power meter.

* Someone who can explain the WHY behind what they are doing. While I won't question everything, if something isn't adding up to me to I'm going to ask why it is being done that way.

* Someone who can be flexible to letting me have a lot of input on my running. I have a high risk for injury and I have figured out what does and does not work for me running wise. I trusted a coach and his plan in the past, and ended up injured. If I see something that doesn't work for me with regards to running, then I'm going to give my input and changes will need to be made.