General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Widow sues USAT Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 4

2013-07-28 10:24 AM

User image

Master
MidWest
Subject: Widow sues USAT

A friend of mine (who is a race director) shared this article and asked for opinions.  I'm torn on my response.  Logically, I can see that when we sign our waivers we are taking a risk when we start the competition.  Emotionally, I can understand where the wife and family are coming from.  It would be very hard to say that my husband would take a risk so big that he would jeopardize our family.

http://www.eagletribune.com/boston/x2040134183/Widow-of-drowned-triathlete-files-suit

2013-07-28 11:42 AM
in reply to: BAMBAM66

User image

Regular
Georgia
Subject: RE: Widow sues USAT
Welcome to the "It must be someone else's fault" society of today. I have no first hand knowledge of the event or the conditions. I do know that having started this sport, at the tender age of 55, I talked to my wife and family about this very aspect. I made sure they knew that nothing in this world is totally safe. If I get pulled from the water or scraped up off the pavement, the decision to compete was mine. The article implies that this person drowned due to choppy water. It does not say whether he had severe cramps, cardiac issues or something else going on too. Being in "excellent" shape means nothing. Hindsight is 20/20, on race day, the participant chose to enter the water knowing the conditions, his abilities and the potential for risk. He acknowledged the risks when he signed the waiver. No one forced him to sign the waiver or start the race. One thing we can take away from this tragic incident is that we all work hard (or should) to perfect our swimming skills. How many work on drown proofing techniques? What will you do when a severe cramp or chest pains hit you suddenly? What will you do if you suck down a bunch of water, instead of air, just as someone swims over top of you. Now is the time to th