General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swimming: arms or legs Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 8

2014-07-13 3:32 PM

User image

Iowa City, Iowa
Subject: Swimming: arms or legs
Hi everyone. I am relatively new to swimming (started about 1 month ago) and was curious what your thoughts were on the ratio of arms to legs in swimming? If it's 50:50 that's fine but just looking for some wisdom. My arms get tired before my legs so maybe I'm not balancing the effort correctly. I also realize I need to be working out my arm muscles a bit more. Do you find fewer big kicks or frequent small kicks works best for you conserving energy?

Thanks for any advice!

2014-07-13 4:45 PM
in reply to: ChemNerd23

User image

Extreme Veteran
Silicon Valley
Subject: RE: Swimming: arms or legs
As a natural fishie my experience may not be typical so take this for what it's worth. My kick is less about propulsion and more about maintaining rhythm and balance when swimming distance swims. Sprints are a whole different story but for long swims, my arms carry the load.

BTW - not unusual that your arms would feel more tired than your legs if you are new to it. If you have been running or cycling you have strong legs already. While the exercise is not directly transferable, just having the basic strength in the legs will result in them feeling less tired as you begin swimming.

Keep it up and you will be fine.

2014-07-13 5:08 PM
in reply to: Stuartap

User image

Canyon, Texas
Originally posted by Stuartap

As a natural fishie my experience may not be typical so take this for what it's worth. My kick is less about propulsion and more about maintaining rhythm and balance when swimming distance swims. Sprints are a whole different story but for long swims, my arms carry the load.