General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Distance Accuracy in Races Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2014-09-16 1:24 PM

User image

Katy, Texas
Subject: Distance Accuracy in Races
In addition to being an Engineer, I spent a lot of my time in high school and college working on a land surveying crew and doing drafting (like with a pencil, scale and straight edge...), so needless to say, I can be REALLY anal when it comes to measurements. With the advent of reliable GPS devices and mapping software over the last decade I have seen a lot of race distances come into question and personally found a number that were inaccurate. A well measured 5k is actually slightly over 5 kilometers per the regs utilized, and the large majority of the one's I have run are in that area. I use a combination of my GPS watch, and access I have to mapping software to verify. Anyway, I've run a couple that were WAAAY off as well. I ran a 5k that was 3.8 miles long once (out of 1,200 runners only like 5 or 6 did a sub-20, and they were studs, that should have told the RD something).

I have done two triathlons so far and both were way off what they were billed as. Most recently I did an "International Distance" tri that was a 0.5 mile swim, a 17 mile bike and a 6 mile run. I was under the impression that International was the same as Olympic at 1,500m/40km/10/km. My first triathlon was a super sprint and it too was way off. I think the total run was 2 miles, the bike was 12 miles and the swim, who knows.

So is this common? How often are they the standard distances and how often are they off.

P.S. I totally understand the limitations of GPS when measuring distances and I really don't want to get into that debate unless you're ready to start talking about survey datums, GIS mapping, AutoCAD, benchmarks, significant figures, and all the other engineering nonsense I live on...

2014-09-16 1:39 PM
in reply to: 3mar

User image

Subject: RE: Distance Accuracy in Races