General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Pull buoy swim Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2016-04-12 9:17 AM

Subject: Pull buoy swim
I have been swimming once a week for the past 2-3 months, and the last month I have been swimming the whole time with a pull buoy to get comfortable in the water, work on breathing and upper body form. For these pull buoy workout I have been going 2300m with one or no breaks in between, approx one hour total. The workouts are not easy, but they're definitely not hard. I am also biking an hour each week and running 10-15 miles per week. Is it safe to say that I could handle a 1500m swim at my current fitness level?

Also, is there a swimming calculator where you can enter your time using a pull buoy and have it estimate your time without a pull buoy?

Thanks!

2016-04-12 9:24 AM
in reply to: andersyanike

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL
Subject: RE: Pull buoy swim

With all due respect, the best way to find out is to lose the pull buoy and swim 1500.  

Mark

2016-04-12 9:27 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Expert
Pfafftown, NC
Ummmm...........sort of.

You could pretty much time yourself in a wetsuit and THAT would mimic the PB swim..........but, PB v. no PB is not do-able.

I started swimming last August, and I used the PB a LOT (I mean.....almost all the time, starting out). I weaned myself off of it, to where my short sessions are 2500 SCY and I occasionally swim over 3K SCY, now (3X/wk). I use the PB, now, only when the workout call for it. BUT..........it was unsettling, starting to wean off of it.

Unless you can swim the 1500M without the PB, I wouldn't try the OLY distance, yet. Just my .02.

Edited by nc452010 2016-04-12 9:27 AM
2016-04-12 10:07 AM

User image

Elite
PEI, Canada