Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 5

2006-12-28 4:12 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
pnw
Subject: Nob's Group - FULLl
Nob / Dane

Did my first tri (1/2 IM) as a cross training lark in 1982 and thought that run was one of the hardest physical things I had done at the time. From grade school through high school I swam on swim teams and worked as a beach lifeguard in college. From the late '70s through the '80s I worked as a climbing guide. I road a bike all that time but never spent any serious training time on one. While I do run I have never been a great runner.

Did a second Tri (a Sprint) in 2005 as a commitment to myself to change my lifestyle back to something I was proud of and more importantly, happy with.

We have been married for 11 years and have no children past our 10 month old Rottweiler puppy. ZuZu is also my new running partner.

I am a big fan of Polar products and have been using HR as basis for my training and tracking my race info for several years (worried about being over weight and exercise when I started). I am currently doing more biking because of a knee injury. I enjoy the bike so much (and it is the easiest time gain in a Tri) that I plan on training with a Power Tap system on the bike this season.

Last year I did a number of Sprints, a couple of Olys, a couple of 1/2s (with Troika again) and a IM. I typically finish in the top of my AG at anything up to a 1/2IM.

I had a very full race schedule last year with 10 Tris alone. That added to a number of Century rides, running and bike road races with a 100 mile Adventure race thrown in for good measure has me rethinking what I want to do this year. I am looking at concentrating on a specific distance but have not decided on which one yet.